Proposal: 3D Graphics, Modeling & Animation

I think this proposal is sane in the sense that 3d questions get asked and they have no home. However i'm a bit worried about scoping of the questions.

Lets face the facts. 3D Graphics, Modeling & Animation is a topic that is at least as many of the other special sites combined. 3D generates a LOT of really basic questions. I have some experience in the matter as I have posted about > 10,000 (this was way back so the number is bigger by a factor of 2 or 3, but I've stopped doing statistics at 10,000 posts). You can intuitively see this if you consider that Maya alone had 653 menu-items back in 2009. Nearly everything you want to do combines about 2-3 actions.

So how do we draw the line? Do we really want to answer every basic question from how do I connect vertices to rendering.

Even just choosing language level is hard. It becomes tedious if one has to point out every step without abstraction. The average animation rig uses about 50 or so intermediate techniques that require several different tools to accomplish, so discussing the rig on lowest possible levels fills a book.

Auxiliary question What is the expertise level we aim for?

How do we ensure the person asking has node his homework? So for example this question shows no effort on the part of the poster. But to be inclusive this should be handled. Again its a bit basic, you can solve this problem by reading the names of all menu items in the edit polygon menu. Worse, of the top of my head I can think of 16 different ways of doing this. If i could be bothered to think a bit deeper I'm sure i could come up with a hundred (and so while i typed the number just jumped to 18, better stop this before its too much... Yeah it is now 28).

So how do we:

• Recruit the talent to answer the questions.
  • Keep the talent interested.
  • Keep the answers from not devolving into a A-B problem game where the biggest problem is figuring out the posters base level.